Stage Door News

New York: Alanis Morissette’s “Jagged Little Pill” leads in Tony Award nominations

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

The nominations for the 2020 Tony Awards were revealed October 15. Tony winner James Monroe Iglehart (Aladdin) hosted the announcement.

The Alanis Morissette musical Jagged Little Pill led the pack with 15 nominations, earning at least one nomination in every eligible category (including six for the show's principal performers). Moulin Rouge! was not far behind, earning 14 nominations. The two and Tina: The Tina Turner Musical comprise this year's Best Musical category, effectively locking out the one other show eligible: The Lightning Thief.

In the Play categories, Jeremy O. Harris' Slave Play and Matthew Lopez's The Inheritance came out on top with 12 (the most ever for a play) and 11 nominations, respectively. Joining the two in the main production category are Bess Wohl's Grand Horizons, Adam Rapp's The Sound Inside, and Sea Wall/A Life from Simon Stephens and Nick Payne.

The 74th annual ceremony honors a Broadway season cut short by the coronavirus pandemic, as shows went dark March 12 and will remain shuttered until at least June 2021 (and likely later). As the Broadway League and American Theatre Wing determined a February 19 eligibility cut-off, 18 total productions are in the running for this year’s awards.

Some productions had begun previews or opened between that date and March 12, though nominators or voters may not have seen them in time to make determinations.

Jagged Little Pill is nominated for: 

• Best Musical

• Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical

Derek Klena, Sean Allan Krill

• Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical 

Kathryn Gallagher, Celia Rose Gooding, Lauren Patten

• Best Book of a Musical

Diablo Cody

• Best Direction of a Musical

Diane Paulus

• Best Choreography

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

• Best Orchestrations

Tom Kitt

• Best Scenic Design of a Musical

Riccardo Hernández and Lucy Mackinnon

• Best Costume Design of a Musical

Emily Rebholz

• Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Justin Townsend

• Best Sound Design of a Musical

Jonathan Deans

From Ryan McPhee for