Stage Door News

Toronto: Playwrights Guild of Canada reveals the 2021 Tom Hendry Award nominees

Monday, September 27, 2021

Playwrights Guild of Canada (PGC) proudly announces the shortlisted nominees for its 2021 Tom Hendry Awards. The Tom Hendry Awards program was founded to highlight the wealth and breath of new play creation across the country.  Peer juries read blind submissions of new plays, culminating in two celebrations to honour the outstanding submissions selected by the juries.  PGC’s Nominee Gala was held online last night to release the names of the talented artist in six (6) writing categories as well as the Bra D’Or Award which recognizes those in the industry who go above and beyond to amplify the voices of women and women-identifying playwrights.  Throughout the broadcast, there were featured excerpt readings of some of the nominated works.   

New to the Tom Hendry Awards program this year is a Drama category which is a great complement to the other categories for Musical, Comedy, and plays created for Young Audiences.  “The talent of Canadian playwrights is staggering” said one of the jurors “the stories, the characters, the creativity – excellent.”  PGC is thrilled to support two awards for emerging artists.  These awards not only list nominees but provide a variety of opportunities for career development and mentorship.   

Playwrights Guild of Canada is grateful to the sponsors and donors who allow us to ensure that the annual recipients receive an honorarium to support the development of Canadian playwriting.  Audiences can search virtual and live performances of new work at theatres in regions across Canada.  You can purchase an early bird edition of the 2021 Tom Hendry Prize Pack of plays through PGC’s online store, the Canadian Play Outlet.   

Playwrights Guild of Canada invites you to learn more about the amazing playwrights honoured last night and watch the production anytime on our YouTube Channel.  Our online auction opened during the Gala and will run until Oct 24th, offering anyone the chance to win a variety of fantastic Canadian items, shipped directly to your home!  You can purchase an early bird edition of the 2021 Tom Hendry Prize Pack of plays through PGC’s online store, the Canadian Play Outlet.  Then join us online on Oct 24th at 7pm Eastern to find out this year’s recipients.

The Playwrights Guild Drama Award – 2021 Short List 

This NEW award is given for a Drama by a PGC member, which has not yet had a professional premiere production as of May 1st, 2021, and has not been published. JURY: Colin Wolf (Chair), Lucia Frangione, and Catherine Joell MacKinnon. 

Reneltta Arluk (AB) for Pawâkan Macbeth, 

Yolanda Bonnell (ON) for My Sister’s Rage, and 

Dalbir Singh (ON) for Five Red Hands.

Dan School of Drama & Music (Musical) Award – 2021 Short List 

This award is given annually for a new musical work by a PGC-member, which has not yet had a premiere production. JURY: Rick Chafe(Chair), Spy Dénommé-Welch, and Britta Johnson. 

Nick Green (with Kevin Wong as Composer and Co-lyricist) (ON) for In Real Life, 

Anton Lipovetsky (Music & Lyrics by Ben Elliott and Anton Lipovetsky, Book by Josh Epstein and Kyle Rideout, Adapted from the Novel by Suzette Mayr) (BC) for Monocerosand 

Anton Lipovetsky (with Niall McNeil as Co-Creator & Lyricist and Lucy McNulty as Co-Creator) (BC) for Cowboy Tempest Cabaret.

The Chris Tolley and Dharini Woollcombe Comedy Award – 2021 Short List 

This award is given annually for a new comedy by a PGC-member, which has not yet had a premiere production. JURY: Leonard Linklater (Chair), Mariah Inger, and Annie Valentina. 

Sunny Drake (ON) for Every Little Nookie, 

John Lazarus (ON) for Fanologyand 

Christine Quintana (BC) for Someone Like You.

The Sharon Enkin Plays for Young People Award – 2021 Short List 

The Sharon Enkin Plays for Young People Award is given annually to a member of PGC who has a new or recently premiered theatre for young audiences (TYA) play.  JURY: Mieko Ouchi (Chair), Inés Adán, and Mark Kreder. 

Carrie Costello (with Michaela Washburn and Joelle Peters) (MB) for Frozen River, 

Julia Lederer (ON) for Smallbotsand 

Érika Tremblay-Roy (Translated by Alexis Diamond) (QC) for The Problem with Pink.

RBC Emerging Playwright Award – 2021 Short List 

This award is given annually for the best play by a PGC-member who is an emerging playwright. JURY: Mary Vingoe (Chair), Dave Devoe, and Frances Koncan. 

Nicholas Guerreiro (BC) for Green Knight on the Frog River, 

Virginia Page Jähne (MB) for The Far-Off Edge of Thingsand 

Zahida Rahemtulla (BC) for The Frontliners.

The Robert Beardsley Award

The Arts & Letters Club of Toronto Foundation’s 2021 Short List 

This award is to be granted to a full-time secondary or post-secondary student within the GTA for the creation of a one-act play script. JURY: Rob Kempson (Chair), Marie Beath Badian, and Donna-Michelle St. Bernard. 

Katrina Creelman (ON) for Happy Pills, 

Camille Intson (ON) for We All Got Lostand 

Shreya Jha (ON) for Statistics.

The Bra d’Or Award – 2021 Short List 

Presented by PGC’s Women’s Caucus, the Bra d’Or Award recognizes an individual or individuals for his/her/their efforts in supporting and promoting the work of Canadian women playwrights. Nominees are submitted and voted on by PGC members.  

Micheline Chevrier (QC) Artistic Director and Executive Director of Imago Theatre

Clem Martini (BC) Playwright and Educator (University of Calgary) (Calgary, BC)

Nicolle Nattrass (BC) Director, Dramaturge and Playwright

Anna Pappas (ON) Artistic Director, Ego Arts Pink Fest

Donna Spencer (BC) Artistic Producer of the Firehall Arts Centre

PerSIStence Theatre Company (NL) A non-profit organization that responds to the persistent and universal need for promoting, understanding and embracing the core beliefs of feminism.

Susinn McFarlen, Lynna Goldhar Smith, and Loretta Seto (BC) Co-Artistic Directors of Wet Ink Collective

For more information visit