Stage Door News

Toronto: Soundstream’s “Garden of Vanished Pleasures” runs online September 23-October 10

Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Lawrence Cherney, Founding Artistic Director, Soundstreams, today announced additional details about the company’s 2021/22 season premiere, Garden of Vanished Pleasures, produced as part of Soundstreams’ 2021 Digital Residency at Crow’s Theatre.

If modern gardening has a patron saint, it must be English artist, filmmaker, and queer rights activist Derek Jarman. As the AIDS plague took his friends one by one and he himself faced an increasingly uncertain future, he discovered his own form of hope, resilience, and solace in his garden by the sea. 

Cecilia Livingston writes deeply-felt songs of love and loss, and they chime perfectly with Donna McKevitt's heart-aching songs that use beautiful texts drawn from Jarman’s journals. Their works are intertwined in Garden of Vanished Pleasures, a fully-staged production for digital broadcast, devised and directed by Tim Albery, working with other members of the team behind Hell’s Fury, The Hollywood Songbook. 

“The pandemic provoked us to develop new ways of engaging with audiences through digital platforms. The Garden of Vanished Pleasures, which opens the season, is itself a poignant metaphor for what we have gone through: a reminder that we must come to terms with all that we have lost, at the same time as we plant hopeful seeds of rebirth and renewal.” – Lawrence Cherney, Founding Artistic Director, Soundstreams 

Digital Passes for Soundstreams’ 2021/22 are available here; individual tickets are available at Visit for more information.  

September 23 – October 10, screening at 8 p.m. EDT (excluding Mondays) 
Digital Broadcast, lasting approximately 75 minutes 
Single Tickets are $20, or you can purchase a Soundstreams Digital Pass for the season 

Tim Albery, devisor and director

Cecilia Livingston, composer 
Donna McKevitt, composer 
Rachael Kerr, music director and piano 
Michelle Tracey, production designer 
Cameron Davis, projection designer and video editor 
Wesley McKenzie, lighting designer 
Dennis Patterson, sound engineer 
David Jaeger, sound producer 
Jessie Potter, production manager 
Isabel Martins, props assistant 
Jay Hines, head technician 

Mireille Asselin, soprano  
Lindsay McIntyre, soprano  
Rebecca Cuddy, mezzo-soprano  
Daniel Cabena, countertenor  
Brenna Hardy-Kavanagh, viola  
Amahl Arulanandam, cello