Stage Door News

Toronto: Yvonne Ng is the winner of the Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts

Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Yvonne Ng is the winner of the 2022 Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts.

The Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts recognizes the highest level of artistic merit and distinguished career achievement by a Canadian professional artist in music, theatre or dance. The prize is awarded on a four-year cycle in dance, theatre, dance and music. Walter Carsen established this fund with a generous $1.1 million donation to the Canada Council for the Arts in 2001.

Born and raised in Singapore, Yvonne Ng is a choreographer, presenter, arts educator, and founder and artistic director of princess productions. princess productions supports the work of two divisions - tiger princess dance projects (1995) for Yvonne's activities as a performer, choreographer, arts educator and producer; and dance: made in canada / fait au canada (2001) a presenting division that produces a biennial festival of contemporary Canadian dance works. Her works have toured internationally for the past 15 years. Her company’s arts education programs, Swallowing Clouds (youth) and Moving Stories (cross-generational) are active in 18 library branches and retirement residences.

Yvonne completed her Masters in Intergenerational Practice at York University in 2018. She has taught at and created work for Toronto Metropolitan University and York University, University of Waterloo and for 6 years at Juniata College, Pennsylvania and the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts and La Salle College of the Arts, Singapore.

Yvonne Ng received the Ontario Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Arts for New Talent in 2007 and, since then, her choreography and performances have earned her 15 Dora Mavor Moore nominations and one win. She has received numerous other accolades, including the Muriel Sherrin Award, the Jacqueline Lemieux Prize, the Soulpepper Community Artist Award, the K.M. Hunter Artist Award, a New Pioneers Award and a Chalmers Arts Fellowship.

Photo: Yvonne Ng.