Stage Door News

Toronto: The Playwrights Guild of Canada has announced the nominees for the 2022 Tom Hendry Awrds

Tuesday, September 27, 2022

The Playwrights Guild of Canada has announced the shortlists for the Tom Hendry awards

The shortlisted playwrights for The Comedy Award announced online at The Nominee Gala are Rose Napoli for Mad Madge, Mark Crawford for The Gig and Jovanni Sy for The Tao of the World.

The RBC Emerging Playwright Award shortlisted nominees are Nikki Shaffeeullah for A Poem for Rabia, Lily Falk for Crypthand and Adjani Poirier for Sinkhole or Six Ways to Disappear

The shortlisted nominees for the Robert Beardsley Award are Sydney-Paige Scott for The Titty Play, Ganesh Thava for Koli Kari and Soykan Karayol for Hammer and Chisel.

The shortlist for the NEW John Palmer Award is out! Congrats to Louise Casemore nominated by Vern Thiessen, Santiago Guzman nominated by Pamela Halsted and Stephen Jackman-Torkoff nominated by Sunny Drake

Next up at The Nominee Gala is the Plays for Young People Award. The shortlisted playwrights are Julia Lederer with co-creator Julie Ritchey for Gather, Rachel Mutombo for Homeroom and Kathleen McDonnell for Swan Girl.

PGC has announced the Bra d’Or Award nominees. Congrats to Tracy Carroll, Beverley Cooper, Heidi Taylor, and Christy MacRae-Ziss & Hannah Ziss

The Dan School of Drama and Music (Musical) Award nominees are Jesse LaVercombe with co-creator Adrian Shepherd-Gawinski for G-G-Genevieve, Jamie Bradley with co-creator Scott Owen for Parlour Tricks and Corey Payette for Starwalker.

The final announcement for the evening was the PGC Drama Award. Congratulations to the shortlisted playwrights: Ka Kei Ho for Cockroach, Marie Beath Badian for Common: A Trilogy and Maggi Feehan for Highway.